Phyllis Morales

Originally from New York, my husband Jason and I moved down to escape the cold weather and snow. We have two boys, Jake and Max. Jake enjoys playing lacrosse and traveling with the national team and Max enjoys playing rugby with our local team in Sarasota. I’ve been a certified school counselor in Manatee County Schools for 16 years and love working with the children and families in our community.

Q: Please tell us a little bit about your family.
Jason and I enjoy traveling during the summer with our boys all over the country and in Greece.

Q: Please tell us about your current, past, or future career. What do you love most about what you do?
I love making a difference in children’s lives and providing support to their parents because it truly does take a village.

Q: What are a couple of your favorite restaurants in our community?
The Grove, Blue Kouzina, Trattoria, Michael Angelos Pizzeria, Libby’s

Q: How long have you lived or worked in our community?
16 years

 

Q: If you could travel anywhere in the world right now, where would it be and why?
Definitely Greece! Miss my family over there and of course the delicious food!

Q: What is one of your favorite movies? TV shows?
Going to show my age right now but love the movie Zanadu.

Q: What advice would you give to people?
That its easier to build strong children than to repair broken adults so we all need to work together and ask for help when you’re at a loss.

Q: What is something on your bucket list?
To own a bed and breakfast on Anna Maria Island.

Q: What is your go to band when you cant decide what to listen to?
Some Yacht Rock goes a long way

 

Q: If you could choose anyone that is alive today and not a relative; with whom would you love to have lunch? Why? And where locally would y’all meet for this lunch?
My best friend Hope in NY. We’ve been friends for 34 years.

Q: What is your favorite thing or something unique about our community?
I love how we have the best of many worlds surrounding us such as Tampa city 45 minutes away, the beaches 30 minutes away and a local vineyard 20 minutes away

Q: Where do you see yourself in 5 to 10 years?
Retiring from the school system and owning a bed and breakfast on AMI with Jason.

Q: (Even for friends or family), what is something interesting that most people don’t know about you?
I once jumped out of an airplane

Q: What is the most beautiful place you have ever been?
Locally it would have to be Lido Key…overseas it would be Santorini, Greece

Q: Favorite month? favorite holiday? and best single day on the calendar?
June is my favorite month because its the beginning of the summer which means travel time!

Q: What would you rate a 10 out of 10?
?

Q: Who inspires you to be better?
My husband Jason. He has been my own personal cheerleader for 20 years.

Q: What is one or two of your favorite smells?
Lavender

Q: Finally, what 3 words or phrases come to mind when you think of the word HOME?
Lake-Wood-Ranch